Posted by: gmelvin | July 19, 2013

It’s Been Awhile – Now to Update

“Change is inevitable, except from a vending machine.” – Unknown Author

Wow – $1.75 for a bottle of water. And I thought Alaska was expensive!

I’m now at the Syracuse University Library – and no, I’m not moving. However, I am working on a career shift. I’m not sure what direction it will lead me, but now it’s the right step for me. I’ve been quite blessed in my journey over here, and it’s been an interesting ride. I’m now beginning my master’s program in Library and Information Science, with a likely focus in Digital Libraries.

Many people think, “Oh, you’re in Library & Information Science – so you want to be a librarian?” Not exactly. Check out this cool link from the Syracuse website: 61 Non-Librarian Jobs for LIS Grads. That’s what I’m looking out for. Perhaps, if I’m called back down into the states, I’ll be using this degree. I do not believe I’ll adjust well (as well as I did up here in Brevig Mission, Alaska) in the the school system down there. I’ll likely not teacher. Maybe…maybe not. We’ll see how the Lord leads me.

My initial trip up here was a thorn. The night before my flight left Syracuse, I got a call from Delta Airlines stating my flight out of Tulsa got cancelled. The lady was so nice (can you think Glados??), that she promptly ended the message before I got to “thank” her for the information. Gotta love computers. I called back, and to make another story short – got placed on a flight with American Airlines (didn’t help when that flight delayed me in Chicago for nearly two hours).

Syracuse University is quite busy in the summer. At least, for my time seeing it. It has a strong, impoverished side of town which I never saw. The campus is mostly situated on a hill, and the faculty I was under were great! Mostly around the 90s, it took me a bit to get used to the lengthy walking. Now, I’ll be flying out soon. It was fun while it lasted, but in a couple of days – back to Brevig Mission, AK.

Syracuse

Look @ Downtown Syr

 

Syracuse University

Usual walk to class

 

Syrcause Downtown

Early in the Morning

 

 

Responses

  1. Hi Greg, I stumbled across your blog and enjoyed reading it. I think you made a smart move deciding to get your masters in library science. It sounds like there will be loads of opportunity for you when you decide to start on your next adventure. You sure won’t be “trapped” in a job you are tired of like so many of us find ourselves at some point in our lives. So are you back in Alaska? When does your school year start? I think Muskogee starts back on Aug. 20th. Have fun and God Bless! Rosmari

    • Hi Rosmari,

      I am back in Alaska – got back last Thursday. We start August 21st, but it will come quick. I hope you enjoy the posts. God bless!


Leave a Reply

Categories

